Under the Charter, the Security Council has primary responsibility for the maintenance of international peace and security. It has 15 Members, of which five of them have a permanent seat and veto power (The United States of America, the Russian Federation, the People’s Republic of China, The United Kingdom and the French Republic). The other ten are elected by the general assembly to have a non-permanent seat for a two-year term. In addition, the members take turns at holding the presidency of the UNSC for periods of one month. Under the Charter, all Member States are obligated to comply with the committee's decisions. 


The Security Council takes the lead in determining the existence of a threat to the peace or an act of aggression. It calls upon the parties of a dispute to settle it by peaceful means and recommends methods of adjustment or terms of settlement. In some cases, the Security Council can resort to imposing sanctions or even authorize the use of force to maintain or restore international peace and security. The meetings are called at any time whenever the need arises.



Miguel Zuleta


Isabela Jaramillo



Myanmar Rohingya's

© 2020 by Mosmun Model United Nations. 

  • Instagram